Julia Louis-Dreyfus to receive 'Mark Twain Prize For American Humor'

Actress Julia Louis-Dreyfus is set to receive the coveted Mark Twain Prize for American Humour.

The Mark Twain Prize for American Humor is awarded by the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.

The prize was established in 1998, and the first laureate was famous Richard Pryor. First woman who was honored by this award was Whoopi Goldberg in 2001. Youngest recipient was Tina Fey, who received the award in 2010.

Other winners are: Jonathan Winters, Carl Reiner, Bob Newhart, Lily Tomlin, Lorne Michaels, Steve Martin, Neil Simon, Billy Crystal, George Carlin, Bill Cosby (he was stripped of the award, after conviction for sexual assault in 2018), Will Ferrell, Ellen DeGeneres, Carol Burnett, Jay Leno, Eddie Murphy, Bill Murray, David Letterman and Julia Louis-Dreyfus.

Louis-Dreyfus became famous as Elaine Benes in one of the most popular sitcoms on the planet - Seinfeld (1990-1998). She owned TV screens in one more comedy series - Veep (2012-2017).

Unfortunately, she is currently battling cancer, and she is not involved in any more projects.

Tagged in: Comedy american Prize Julia Louis-Dreyfus honoured


  1. Teddy
    best comedian ever!!!
  2. Erica34
    one of my favourite actress for sure <3
  3. Reedus
    she is really amazing comedian!
  4. Tess
    Julia Louis-Dreyfus is is very witty ^^
  5. Karaman
    totally deserved... she is amazing comedian

Leave a Comment

Captcha Image